The Turmoil.

Monday, September 22nd, 2008

Dear World,

It’s amazing that I didn’t get one single response from my last post about the trouble I’ve been having with anxiety and a host of other things. I’m proud of y’all for letting me “just have that”.

Most of you that know me see me as a very laid back worry free person and when it comes to pass that I’m stressing unreasonably over something I have no idea or control of then even I get a little worried. I decided to take some time off and eliminate some things from my diet. One of the first was caffeine. Once I did that things got a heck of a lot better for me. You see, for those that don’t know, caffeine cause some very adverse affects on the nervous system. I happen to have had most of the worst. Anxiety, nausea, headache, you name it! It’s really strange since up until about a month ago I never had this reaction to it. I’m not – err, wasn’t a heavy coffee drinker. I had one medium cup a day which I nursed from about 8 a.m. to about noon. I’ve done that for a long time.  Anyhow, after doing my research and reading through research a dear friend of mine started me out with, I learned that caffeine can be some harsh stuff.

What I also learned was that once you cease your intake of caffeine you may experience some very harsh withdrawal symptoms. Oddly enough, these symptoms can be some or all of the following: drowsiness, irritability, flu-like symptoms, anxiety, nervousness, lack of concentration – just to name the most common.

I’ve not suffered the anxiety so much on the withdrawal but everything else has reared it’s ugly head. I’ve been going through a tough time and I’m exactly one week in. The last caffeine I consumes was my morning coffee followed by an Arizona Green tea for lunch last Monday. So, I’m still having trouble with it and find it tough to write but I’ll get through this as I have most things in my life and I’ll be back to me soon enough!

Peace, Love, & Understanding,

Bug

One comment on “The Turmoil.

  1. wavemaker2 says:

    Yea, I know where your coming from. My husband and I QUIT Caffine along time ago.. And we feel 100% better.. And ALL the symptoms that go along with quiting caffine. It was NOT hard for me because I just gotten out of the Hospital and so wanted a Diet Coke (with Caffine) than gotten home and drank one… OMGEEZ!!! I thought my heart was going to pop out of my chest!! So. I stopped right than and there and it’s been 9 month’s for me now.. And NEVER intend to go back to Caffine!! til l8er

Leave a Reply

